How to Grow Long Hair

Long Hair

I have gone through “it’s time for a change, I need a bob haircut” cycle quite a few times. And after the new haircut high wears off a few weeks later, I find myself desperately looking for ways to make my hair grow as long as possible as quickly as possible.

I’ve definitely learned a few things and accepted some difficult truths about hair and growing it out. Here’s what you should know:

1. Stop cutting it. Sounds silly to say but it’s the only way to start adding length. I had a hard time giving up a visit to the salon. It feels awesome to have someone wash you hair! If you have damaged hair, you can stop by the salon for a trim but be sure to space out your appointments so that you’re gaining more than you’re losing.

2. Be patient, it’s going to take YEARS. It’s true. Go ahead, cry. If you want long flowy hair it takes A LONG time. You get about 6 inches a year and that’s before deducting anything you may have trimmed off.

3. You don’t look like her. You know that pinterest photo of that girl with long, sexy, thick hair you stare at daily? Well that’s not you or your hair. That was harsh…sorry…Lol But seriously, very few people warn you that when you grow your hair out it might not look anything like you expected it to.

I was expecting loooong luscious wavy goodness once I got my hair down to my mid back but instead it’s heavy, straight, and a little stringy. I have to rely on styling tools and products for thick looking voluminous hair

4. Massage your scalp. Get the blood flowing to your scalp! A gentle massage increases circulation which aids your body in delivering nutrients to your locks which is a must for optimal hair growth.

5. Eat your carrots! Your diet shows. And I don’t just mean on your waistline. Hair tends to reflect your health (both mental and physical) so eat well and take time to combat stress with relaxing activities.

Hope this helps! Let me know what hair struggles you’re currently dealing with!

8 thoughts on “How to Grow Long Hair

Leave a Reply

